Newbie questions

I have a couple basic questions;

  1. When playing in a tournament, who has the choice of providing equipment if both players have acceptable equipement and wish to use thier own?

  2. If you play in a tournament, then play in another right away before the results from the first have been computed into your posted rating, do you report your rating upon registering for the second as it was prior to the first? Even if you were unrated?

  3. When playing with multiple time periods, say 40 moves in 2 hours, followed by one hour sudden death, does the time period for both players move to the second period when the first person completes the first period? Or can each person be in different periods?

Tim Just
5th edition, rulebook editor

Thanks Tim. Unfortunately, my copy of the rulebook will not arrive until the day after the tournament.

In theory only the official monthly published ratings are supposed to be used, in practice far too many organizers/TDs use unofficial ratings gleaned from MSA in their tournaments.

This creates problems because, unlike the monthly lists, unofficial ratings can change, sometimes several times in a single day. So the ratings that the TD is using may not be the ones currently shown on MSA.

The practice of maintaining independent ‘minimum rating’ lists is at least sanctioned by the rulebook.

As for reporting your first rating to the TD of your second tournament, you can report whatever you want (in fact, it would be a good idea to report anything you know), but it is up to the TD to look it up and to make the right decision as to whether to use it.

As for equipment preference, a delay-capable clock (actually set for the delay) is preferred over a clock without the delay capability. That rule comes ahead of the one that says black gets his choice.

Bill Smythe

In fact, the DGT clocks add the second time period to both players when either player has used up the first period time. While this seemed odd to me at first, it makes sense. Let’s say the white player uses up his time and the second period is added (and a flag is displayed). When had had made his 40th move (assuming 40/2 for example), he must have had first period time left or he would have lost on time. So if he didn’t lose on time, when he pressed his clock and ran out of first period time, it must have been because he had made his 41st (or greater) move. That means black has also made his 40th (or greater) move as well. So any time someone causes time to be added to both clocks, he must have made more than 40 moves or he has lost on time. It kind of made my head spin for a while.

This is not necessarily true, as clocks don’t (can’t) count moves, but instead count presses of the clock. If you go into the second control and your opponent can prove that you haven’t made 40 moves, you lose.

Alex Relyea

Since the DGT clocks don’t show a move counter, I would never set them to count moves or button presses. I was referring to simply adding the second time when the first ran out. And of course, if the second time is added before playing 40 moves, you do indeed lose. I was simply pointing out that the time is added to BOTH clocks when one runs out of time in the first time control.

If the clock is not counting moves and the next time period is added after a player makes his 40th move (as shown on the scoresheets), the player’s flag has fallen and he loses (assuming the opponent calls it under USCF rules), because the clock must have gone to zero. The flag has to stay up after playing the last move of a time control.

We had a time forfeit like that in the Open section of the Philadelphia Open, played under FIDE rules. The time control was 40/90, SD/30 with a 30 second increment. After a player, who had been in time pressure, made his 38th move his clock showed 30 minutes and 30 seconds. Chris Bird ruled that he’d lost on time because his clock must have gone to zero, since the additional 30 minutes (as well as the 30 second increment) had been added.

Exactly. The DGT clock adds the extra time to both clocks and shows a flag (just like an analog flag dropping at 6:00 o’clock at the end of a 2 hour first period). It may be confusing since other clocks don’t add the second time period to a clock until that side has run out of time. So with DGT clocks, both sides have the time added, but with other clocks, only the side that went over has the time added.