Rule 12F

“It is the responsibilty of the opponent to notice the check, and a player who does not may suffer serious consequences.”

My question is what are the serious consequences?

thanks.

One big consequence would be obligation under touch move. One of my first big scholastic tournaments, I moved a rook from F1 to E1, placing the black king in check. My opponent did not notice the check, and made a queen move. I pointed out that he was in check, and he put the queen back and interposed a knight. I then informed him that he had to move the queen, and the director upheld it. He had to hang his queen to block the check, and then interposed a minor piece.

(And no, I wasn’t trying to gain an advantage by not announcing check. I just was being quiet in my 2nd ever tournament.)

I then informed him that he had to move the queen, and the director upheld it. He had to hang his queen to block the check, and then interposed a minor piece.

So robgetty, you’re saying the queen could not block the check so your oppenent had to interpose using a knight eventhough the queen was the first piece touched?

I believe what he meant was that the Queen had to be interposed because it had been touched (and was lost for nothing), after which the opponent had to block the check with another piece (as he had tried to at first).

That happens, win the queen because your opponent was in a rush to make a move. You are in your right under rule 12F, and your opponent made a touch move (rule 10B). It happens more during the fun games, it is very painful during a rated game. If I had to play with a queen down, it looks like it is time to resign.

Do not feel bad you won the queen, you were in your rights under 12F. Your opponent touched a piece, and you pointed it out. If you did not point out the touch piece, and let your opponent make some other move. Than I would have some issues with that.

My interpretation is the same as John Hillery’s. Since there was a legal move with the Queen, that move was required under ‘touch move’.

The consequences of that move are irrelevant. I once had to rule in a game in which the touched piece was White’s King, and the only legal square it had to move to resulted in mate by Black on the next move.

Just to clarify, yes, there was a legal Queen move (that resulted in losing the Queen for no compensation).

I can’t think of any other serious consequences other than those related to touch move that would come from a failure to notice being in check.