I’m organizing some tournaments where we are providing sets and clocks for the players (DGT North America). One player got really upset about this and insisted that he be able to use his clock when he was black. I explained to him the advantages for the TDs in knowing that all the clocks are set correctly and how to modify them, if they need to. In the end, I let him use his clock but I was wondering, can I require the use of organizer provided equipment?
I have less of a problem when players want to use their own sets but the basic question is the same. At scholastic nationals they provide the sets and boards. It is not an option to use your own. This implies that it does not require prior announcement that use of organizer provided equipment is required.
Thanks,
Mike Regan
See page 223, “39A. Choice of equipment” in the rulebook: “If the organizer of the tournament provides equipment conforming to the following standards, the players should expect that the organizer or TD would require the use of that equipment.”
As Tim said, if you are providing all of the equipment then you are providing all of the equipment. The player does not have a right to use something different as long as your equipment is within the standards.
The only justified type of exception I could see would be something like a blind player needing a special set where the type and color of the pieces can be safely (without displacement) determined by touch, a blind player needing a clock where the time can be determined by touch, a slightly sighted but legally blind player needing a board and/or pieces that are more visually differentiated in color, etc.
You are the organizer. You can make them use anything you want. They also have the right not to play in your tournaments.
You certainly have the right to require the players use the equipment you furnish.
Another option would be to allow the use of other equipment if both players agree (not just if black wants to).
Bill Smythe