When castleing.....

Can you castle when in check?

Thanks!

catical

No, you cannot castle if the king is in check, would move across a square in which it would be in check, or would be in check after castling.

You can castle, however, if the rook is under attack.

Here is the exact rule about castling from page 14 in the 5th edition of the rulebook:

8A4. Castling temporarily illegal.
Castling is not presently possible if:

a. An opponent’s piece attacks the king’s original square (12A, 12B), any square which the king must cross over (12E), or the square the king is to occupy (12E), or

b. There is any piece between the king and the rook with which it castles.

TD TIP: In other words: (1) the squares between the king and rook have to be empty; (2) the king cannot be in check, and (3) the king cannot move through or into check.

Tim